▲ Topics

Data Logger

Use the Data Logger window to create a schedule of jobs, run the schedule, and view live data on the Dashboard.

Note: Only one user is defined (admin). By default, any user can create or modify a job and schedule, and read, write, and delete files stored on the WebDAQ device's media. A password can be created to limit access to the web interface of the WebDAQ device. Once a password is set, the level of security can be configured to require the password for access to the web page (including reading data) or to allow any user to read data, but to require the password to make any changes to jobs, schedules, or files through the web page.


The Data Logger Schedule tab displays by default when you open the Data Logger. The image below shows a typical window for a Schedule with two jobs. The right pane summarizes the options configured for the selected Schedule or job.


Data Logger Schedule summary

The Data Logger window includes a Run All button, Schedule tab, and Dashboard tab.

Tap a topic below for additional information about each Data Logger component.

Schedule

The Schedule tab displays the current status, the job list, a configuration summary, and tool bar for performing job and schedule-related tasks. Tap next to a job name to run the job, or to stop the job. Note that you cannot run an individual job that has dependencies on other jobs, such as a "Jump to Job" alarm. Job configuration options are discussed in the Job Editor topic.

Schedule Tab Toolbar
New Job Opens the Job Editor for you to create a new job configuration.
EditWhen a job is selected, opens the Job Editor populated with settings for the selected job.
When the schedule is selected, opens the Schedule Settings dialog box to configure schedule options.
Duplicate Job Creates a copy of the selected job in the job list using the "Job#" job name.
DeleteWhen a job is selected, deletes the job from the job list. Save the job first if you plan to use it again.
When the schedule is selected, deletes the schedule and restores schedule settings to default values. A dialog prompts for confirmation to complete this action.
Move DownMoves the job down in the job list. Jobs are run sequentially according to the order of this list.
Move UpMoves the job up in the job list.
Config Files

Displays options to save a job or schedule to a file, import an existing job file to the job list, or import a schedule file to replace the job list. Both job and schedule configuration files are saved with the extension "*.json".
You can download saved jobs and schedules to a local drive and upload either to this or another device; refer to the Data Files window Files tab for more information.
Job options:

  • Save To File: Opens the Save Job As dialog box. Job settings are saved in a configuration (*.json) file in the specified WebDAQ location (Internal Storage or attached media).
  • Import From File: Opens the Import Job dialog box for you to select the job file to import to the job list from the device internal storage, or external media, if present.
Schedule options:
  • Save To File: Opens the Save Schedule As dialog box. The schedule settings, the job list, and the Job settings for all of the jobs listed in the schedule are saved in a configuration (*.json) file in the specified WebDAQ location (Internal Storage or attached media).
  • Import From File: This operation removes all jobs in the current schedule; a dialog box displays for confirmation. When confirmed, opens the Import Schedule dialog box for you to select to the *.json schedule file to import from the device internal storage, or external media, if present. The selected schedule and all of its associated jobs are imported.
Schedule Settings Opens the Schedule Settings dialog box to configure when to start the schedule, how often to repeat the schedule, and whether to stop the schedule and cancel any remaining jobs if an error condition is detected.
Dashboard

The Dashboard shows data on scalar displays, the status of each alarm, and plotted on a strip chart. Each of these displays can be hidden (minimized) by the user.

The Dashboard displays time domain data on a strip chart, and frequency domain data on an FFT display. The alarm status is also displayed, when configured. Each display can be hidden (minimized) by the user.
When viewing FFT data, the maximum peak values are optionally displayed on the data plot and in the legend below the plot.

Dashboard tab

Dashboard tab

You can minimize individual scalar and alarm displays, show/hide channels on the strip chart, and view/reset alarms on the Dashboard.

You can minimize individual displays, show/hide channels on the strip chart and FFT displays, and view/reset alarms on the Dashboard.

Run All

Tap to execute the Schedule and run each job in the job list.

The following events occur when the Schedule is run:

Stopping or canceling a job

To stop a job configured for manual stop, or to cancel a job configured for any other stop type, but to continue running remaining scheduled jobs, tap the Stop icon next to the job in the job list. To cancel all jobs in a running schedule, tap the red Abort button. This will cancel the currently running job and any remaining jobs in the schedule will not run.